It don’t matter.

mexican lasagna recipe

To get to our favorite beach in the Florida Panhandle, my husband and I drive the entire length of the great state of Alabama. In Clanton, just a wide spot in the road, there’s an eatery called the It Don’t Matter Restaurant. It looks like your basic meat-and-three; we’ve never eaten there because, as vegetarians, the Deep South is a mine field for us. But the place is always packed. Where else would you eat in Clanton, Alabama, you ask? Well, it don’t matter because there isn’t anyplace else.

As I’ve said many times on this blog, I don’t like to measure. I am the spawn of a long line of a-pinch-and-a-handful cooks, so that’s how I roll. One recipe that’s quickly becoming a favorite is what I call Mexican Lasagna. It’s different every time I make it, depending on what’s in the crisper. (If they were honest, they’d call it the Good Intentions Bin.) Click here for more about that. Next time, I’m going to try adding the Boca Soy Crumbles, which I use in my vegan chili recipe, because they are a very credible and tasty protein source.

And don’t bother measuring, because…you guessed it. It don’t matter.

P.S. The picture that goes with this post is from the last time I made it, before it went into the oven. Yours will look different.

To receive an email notice when there is a new recipe, click on “Follow Blog Via Email” at the top right of the page and enter your email address. You won’t receive emails about anything else, and we will never share your email address with anyone. 

Return to top.

About ovolactopesco

Artist, marketer, writer, and sometimes cook.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to It don’t matter.

  1. Judith Wolf Mandell says:

    This one’s worth making if only for the giggly name.

Leave a comment